Brazilian travel itinerary

This weekend I’ve been trying to organize my travel, decide where I’d most like to go, how much it will cost, and how I can make it happen. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

April 28-31: Belo Horizonte and Ouro Preto, Minas Gerais

I’ll be traveling to BH with a friend from my program, where we’ll meet up with two others, bop around the city for the night, and then head to Ouro Preto for Easter. Ouro Preto is famous for being a well-preserved colonial Portuguese town, and in the early hours of Easter morning people decorate the streets with elaborate designs using colored sawdust.

Image

April 5-7: Caldas Novas, Goias

Caldas Novas are thermal springs, in which I plan on parking my ass for the weekend and not doing a whole lot of moving.

Image

April 19-21: Araraquara, Sao Paulo

I’ll be visiting a friend for a weekend before we head to Belem, Para.

April 21-26: Belem, Para

I’ll be attending an Amazonian Linguistics and Literature conference, which will be interesting, and more importantly, a good excuse to travel to the other side of the country. I guess I should get my yellow fever and typhoid shots.

Image

April 26-29: Marajo, Para

A few of us attending the conference have plans to visit Marajo, the world’s largest freshwater island. It sits at the mouth of the Amazon River and is apparently the size of Switzerland. This picture makes it look nice in an indigenous way, but the others I’ve seen look a little scary, so we’ll see how it goes. I hope I don’t get dengue. Or malaria. Or have one of those fish swim up my pee hole.

Image

July 5 and surrounding dates: Rio de Janeiro

Two friends are running a half marathon in Rio on the 5th, and I said I’d accompany them and sip caipirinhas on the beach while they run because I’m just that supportive.

Image

July 14-21ish: Olinda, Pernambuco

A friend is coming to visit me from the States and our first stop is Olinda. We plan on taking intensive Portuguese lessons, walking around this beautiful old colonial town, and beaching, of course.

Image

July 21-28ish: Maceio, Alagoas

It’s one of my goals in life to go to a beach with see-through water (1. because it’s beautiful, 2. I can see sharks better), so I sincerely hope the water is this clear in person.

Image

sometime in August: Brasilia

My program is having a mid-year get-together. I’m excited to go, though everyone I’ve talked to gets weird vibes from Brasilia. Even though it’s shaped like an airplane, has alien buildings, and is in the middle of the desert, I still think it might be cool. Hell, that’s reason enough right there.

Image

I’m trying to get outside the country at some point, but I don’t know yet if/when that might happen. I also am done with work the last week of November, but my visa is valid until mid-February, so I plan on staying and backpacking around for a while until my funds run out.

Any suggestions?

Author: monix7

I am a traveler, reader, creator, editor, translator, learner, scholarship-earner, bonfire-burner, mess-maker, climber, faller, beautifier, and many other things, good and bad.

One thought on “Brazilian travel itinerary”

Leave a Reply

