bid adieu to your ennui

This past week I’ve spent a lot of time in my head, thinking hard thoughts I’ve been neglecting.

Between the semester ending, Brazil protesting nationally, my closest (only?) friends here leaving (which naturally leads to too much drinking at sad despedida parties, which naturally makes me regret my life the following day), planning to move apartments, a Brazilian fucking with my head (there’s always got to be one, doesn’t there?), and preparing for a month-long travel stint, I’ve been fraying at the seams.

But there’s a light. There has to be. I’m forcing a turning point because I can’t stand it otherwise.

So cue the old, good habits I used to have before moving here. Meditation, reading lots of good books, writing, using my time wisely, planning for the future. These are all things that keep me sane in the US, which I’ve all but lost sight of here. So I move forward.

Next Wednesday I begin a month of travel that involves stops in Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, and Olinda and Maceio, both cities in the northeast of Brazil. The first leg will be full of friends I’ve made here, the second with my best and oldest friend from home. I look forward to being refreshed by days on the beach, close to no schedule, and time with people I feel comfortable around. Brazilian beaches truly are beautiful, and in no short supply. My friend from home is bringing some American things for me, and that makes me happier than I ever thought material possessions would. My desire for macaroni and cheese and long pants outweighs my disappointment at that.

This trip will bring me to the beginning of a new semester. Some changes will take place, which is what I’m clinging to in thinking about my future here. There’s no saying how long the strike at the university where I work will last, but I’m willing to bet there will be lots of make up work to do right when I get back, a welcome thought after a month of trying to entertain myself sans work. I’ll be going to Brasilia that month too, as part of my work program here. Brasilia seemed so far away at orientation when I first arrived in Sao Paulo, but it’s creeped up on us. It’s a good marker that time is passing. I’ve chosen to move from my apartment because I live too far from campus. That will be a welcome change that will save me two hours a day, as that’s the time I’m now wasting on a bus to get to and from school. I’m looking forward to meeting the new foreign students, auditing another Portuguese class, and maybe a translation one too. I have a half-price student bus pass to Sao Paulo, my favorite city here, where a few good friends are moving in August. I have a few job ideas for the coming year. So things are looking up. Right?

Author: monix7

I am a traveler, reader, creator, editor, translator, learner, scholarship-earner, bonfire-burner, mess-maker, climber, faller, beautifier, and many other things, good and bad.

Leave a Reply

